top of page
  • Oonagh Yaged '25

Meet Ms. S!

By: Oonagh Yaged '25


Have you seen a new face at Notre Dame? While yes, there are many newly- accepted Chez Nous Sisters roaming the hallways, there is another individual who is making her Chez Nous teaching debut. It’s Ms. Sondgeroth, more fondly referred to as Ms. S! She is returning to her alma mater to teach in our arts department.

Ms. S, who is just beginning her teaching career, is quick to describe how welcoming the community has been. “Everybody is just so nice and so willing to help me because I am a new teacher and it’s great to have that kind of support system,” she said. Although Ms. S may be new, she is already making sure to include vital values of our school community into her curriculum. “I dedicate a lot of the time that I’m teaching to advocacy and social justice stuff,” she said. For example, “my sophomores are making zines with activism and social justice causes in them right now.”

Notre Dame has had a huge influence on Ms. S’s chosen career. “I took AP Art History when I was at ND and I loved it and the teacher that I had so much that I continued in college,” she continued as she explained her dedication to the arts and teaching. “Research and writing in Ms. Kane and Mr. Vasey’s classes led me to a career in arts and also getting my Master's degree in Art History.”

As if her new job isn’t keeping her busy enough, Ms. S is studying for her Master’s degree in Art History, but she makes time for things she enjoys. “I play classical piano and I’ve played for 17 years now,” Ms. S said. Luckily for her, she truly enjoys what she does. “My work time and my fun time kind of overlap sometimes,” she said. “Like even now I’m drawing something on my iPad for a class but I enjoy doing it anyway, so it doesn’t really feel like work.”

If you ever have a chance to stop by the art studio, as it is often filled with the many students who spend their free time there, say hi to our new teacher. “I’m excited to keep getting to know everybody!” Ms. S said.


Photos Courtesy of Notre Dame Instagram


Edited by: Kaitlyn Owens '25, Katarina Radulovic '24, Natalia Cseh '23, and Ms. Brilliant


Fair Use Disclaimer

The images and contents in this article are under Fair Use: Copyright Disclaimer Under Section 107 of the Copyright Act in 1976; Allowance is made for "Fair Use" for purposes such as criticism, comment, news reporting, teaching, scholarship, and research. Fair use is a use permitted by copyright statute that might otherwise be infringing. Non-profit, educational or personal use tips the balance in favor of fair use.

All rights and credit go directly to its rightful owners. No copyright infringement intended.

111 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Kommentare


bottom of page