top of page
  • Cecilia Fiorindo

The Death of a Legend

By Cecilia Fiorindo '21


On the foggy morning of January 26th, Kobe Bryant and his thirteen-year-old daughter Gianna embarked on a helicopter with seven of their friends to attend a basketball game.

Sadly, they never made it there.


When news of a helicopter crash in Calabasas broke out, and rumors that the basketball legend was on board began spreading, the world seemed to stop.

No one could fathom that the player who had been an inspiration for so many could have died at such a young age. "The Black Mamba", in fact, was one of the most beloved players in the history of basketball. His undeniable talent and his hardworking attitude made him a role model for all those who dreamed of, one day, becoming professional athletes like him.

After being drafted by the Los Angeles Lakers right after high school, Kobe dominated the NBA for twenty years, playing with or against stars like Micheal Jordan, Shaquille O'Neal, and Kareem Abdul-Jabbar.

With a 25.3 PPG average, an NBA regular-season MVP award, five NBA titles, two Olympic Gold Medals and two NBA Finals MVP awards, he was the greatest Los Angeles Laker of all time.

Bryant was just as inspiring outside of the court. He won an Oscar for his short movie and poem "Dear Basketball" (link and poem below), he funded his own basketball academy, he was a philanthropist and, most importantly, he was the father of four wonderful daughters. His daughter Gianna, who also lost her life in the crash, was a promising women's basketball star, and he was her biggest fan.

The tragic helicopter crash of Calabasas united Los Angeles and the entire basketball community in grief as numerous memorials took place to honor the victims and their families. Thousands of people gathered outside of the Staples Center in LA, bringing flowers and pictures, sending condolences to Kobe's family and reminding each other to never take tomorrow for granted.





"Dear Basketball" by Kobe Bryant

Dear Basketball,

From the moment I started rolling my dad’s tube socks And shooting imaginary Game-winning shots In the Great Western Forum I knew one thing was real: I fell in love with you.

A love so deep I gave you my all — From my mind & body To my spirit & soul.

As a six-year-old boy Deeply in love with you I never saw the end of the tunnel. I only saw myself Running out of one.

And so I ran. I ran up and down every court After every loose ball for you. You asked for my hustle I gave you my heart Because it came with so much more.

I played through the sweat and hurt Not because challenge called me But because YOU called me. I did everything for YOU Because that’s what you do When someone makes you feel as Alive as you’ve made me feel.

You gave a six-year-old boy his Laker dream And I’ll always love you for it. But I can’t love you obsessively for much longer. This season is all I have left to give. My heart can take the pounding My mind can handle the grind But my body knows it’s time to say goodbye.

And that’s OK. I’m ready to let you go. I want you to know now So we both can savor every moment we have left together. The good and the bad. We have given each other All that we have. 

And we both know, no matter what I do next I’ll always be that kid With the rolled up socks Garbage can in the corner :05 seconds on the clock Ball in my hands. 5 … 4 … 3 … 2 … 1


Love you always, Kobe.


12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Σχόλια


bottom of page