top of page
  • Taylor Whitfield '21

Faith and Community - Esplanade Gardens Plaza

By Taylor Whitfield '21


Editor's Note: We are starting a new series every Friday highlighting reports from students "Chez Vous". If you would like to be featured, please submit art, photographs, or writing to Dr. Dooley and Cecilia Fiorindo.


What gives me hope is my community. My Esplanade Gardens Plaza community in particular is like a big family. Today, we had a Church service with a prominent speaker. We all listened to it from our porches or from our windows. It was such a beautiful moment to still be connected to the community while at home. I am not much of a religious person. I don’t go to church, but prayer is still important to me. Today, I realized that I should go to Church more often, because listening to that service through those speakers and seeing all the people in my community come out on their porches gave me so much hope, especially given the circumstances we are in right now. We sang together. We prayed together. It was a moment that I will never forget. I love my community, and if it wasn’t for them, I would probably be going crazy because of being stuck in my house.

I loved how we could come together and praise God, even though we are shut in our houses, and that gives me confidence that we will all be okay.



Artwork by Alexandra Held-Villasenor '21



30 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page