top of page
  • Ana Gavilanes '21

Music as Light in the Darkness

Editor's Note: We are starting a new series every Friday highlighting reports from students "Chez Vous". If you would like to be featured, please submit art, photographs, or writing to Dr. Dooley and Cecilia Fiorindo.


By Ana Gavilanes '21


Throughout my life, many things have changed, especially the place I call home. When I was 6, I moved from Puerto Rico to Miami. Within a year I moved to Pennsylvania for a blink, then I was back on the road to Manhattan, then Brooklyn, then back to Manhattan. Luckily, we then settled in Brooklyn, so that became my home. Later, however, my parents got divorced, and then my dad moved to California.


But now I'm at home, and only at home. It feels strange to be in one place and have the

title "home" weigh so heavily on everything. The reason behind staying home feels weird too. However, the only thing never changing for me has been music. Music has always played an essential role in my life. My first formal acquaintance with music was The Beatles. Coming from Puerto Rico and going to an English-speaking school, I was immediately cast aside by my classmates and even some teachers because I spoke English with such a heavy accent. The English language then became my obsession, and the beauty of The Beatles was my favorite thing in the world, not any toy or TV show, but just the sound of The Beatles.


Eventually, I mastered English and outgrew my Beatles obsession, but not the one I had with the English language. Words from The Beatles became those of Aladdin, and then Harry Potter movies, and finally books. However, music always remained my favorite. I loved the consistency but shortness of music. It mirrored the reason why I began to love it in the first place.


Now, for the first time in my life, the word "home" means something boundless, and through this, music has given me hope. Music has given me hope because it has given me optimism. Music, like it has done before, has sparked my appreciation for the world and given me curiosity. Even in the darkest times, like the one we are going through right now, I can still feel at home in music, and gain so much happiness from it.




Fair Use Disclaimer

The images and contents in this article are under Fair Use: Copyright Disclaimer Under Section 107 of the Copyright Act in 1976; Allowance is made for "Fair Use" for purposes such as criticism, comment, news reporting, teaching, scholarship, and research. Fair use is a use permitted by copyright statute that might otherwise be infringing. Non-profit, educational or personal use tips the balance in favor of fair use.

All rights and credit go directly to its rightful owners. No copyright infringement intended.




35 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentários


bottom of page