top of page
  • Devon Neville '21

Optimism in a Time of Darkness

Editor's Note: We are starting a new series every Friday highlighting reports from students "Chez Vous". If you would like to be featured, please submit art, photographs, or writing to Dr. Dooley and Cecilia Fiorindo.


By Devon Neville '21


To be honest, this whole quarantine experience has been a whirlwind of emotions and feelings. I remember the sinking feeling in my stomach as Ms. Brilliant announced to the student body that we would be transitioning to online learning until April 20th, and then feeling the world slip away under my feet. Two days later, I was finishing eating a meal with one of my friends at a sushi restaurant that we usually would not eat at because we cannot afford it, but deep down I had an intuition that this would be my last sit-down meal in a restaurant for a long time and I wanted it to be special. Two hours later, our mayor closed all the restaurants and began to institute the protocols that have now become a habit. 


Initially, I adjusted well into home life. I have a good relationship with my parents, and I was happy to be able to spend time with my brother, who arrived home from college. However, I soon began to miss my friend group, with whom I have such a connection, and even my extended peer group at school. They are the ones who always made school worth attending. I am also experiencing many physical changes as well since my lifestyle has been altered: I cannot sleep as well, my eyes have been struggling with the constant screen time. We all have been having good days and bad days in my house. 


Personally, I struggle to attribute my ‘hope’ or my sense of optimism solely to one thing, because I have so many blessings in my life: my family, my friends, my health, and many more. I also think it is important that I recognize how privileged I am during this situation: no one in my immediate family is immuno-compromised, both my parents still have jobs, we all have internet and personal devices to do work and learn, and we do not have to worry about putting food on the table. If I had to choose one thing though, I would say that people’s small acts of kindness give me hope and brighten my mood. Watching a video of an aging veteran dancing brought me so much joy. Zooming with my extended family and listening to the zinging banter is always hilarious. Seeing people in my community individually commit to buying extra food and prepare individual lunches for the homeless shelter, or even organize mass pizza drop-offs to all those working in healthcare in Hoboken. All these acts give me hope. Lastly, I find hope in the dedication of nurses, doctors, and all first responders fighting this illness here and abroad, especially my aunt Shannon and my friend’s mother Cathy Parker. 


One of my quirks is that I am one of the most optimistic cynics that one could meet. I am already planning my perfect day for once quarantine is over, I am still studying for my ACTs and working on my college applications, I am still applying to the local cafe for a summer job. I continue to remain optimistic that this situation will pass, and that we can draw inspiration from this pandemic to inspire reform and progress, and perhaps frame our national conversation in a new perspective. 


Hoboken shows its recognition for healthcare workers and first responders


29 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

コメント


bottom of page