top of page
  • Ana Perez '21

Seeking Hope in Prayer and Scripture

Editor's Note: We are starting a new series every Friday highlighting reports from students "Chez Vous". If you would like to be featured, please submit art, photographs, or writing to Dr. Dooley and Cecilia Fiorindo.


By Ana Perez '21


During this quarantine, I have been working on trying to devote more time to my relationship with God. Prior to this crisis my schedule was very busy, occupied with school, and sports, and later more studying. These activities kept me occupied and it was really easy to forget the important things in life, like praying and reading the Bible. Quarantine has given me an opportunity to change that. Although it has been difficult for me to remain consistent, because of lack of time and motivation, having my family gather every night to read the Bible and pray has encouraged me to do the same not only with them but also on my own time. 


While reading scripture in my room, I came across a verse which I remember from my childhood and that has served as a reminder to always count on God. It was first introduced to me at my uncle's church in the Dominican Republic, and although it had escaped my mind, I am glad it has resurfaced at a time of hardship like the one we are going through right now. The verse reads, 


             “No weapon formed against you shall prosper,

             And every tongue which rises against you in judgment

             You shall condemn.

             This is the heritage of the servants of the Lord,

             And their righteousness is from Me,

             Says the Lord.”  Isaiah 54:17 


 

    In trying to understand this verse again, I remembered my parents explaining to me that the use of the word “weapon” in this verse was not literal, but rather figurative, and was meant to represent any harmful thing that could come my way. I instantly applied this verse to what is going on in the world at this moment. Understanding this verse gave me reassurance and hope, that as long as I believe in God, no “weapon” such as this terrible virus can prosper against me or my family.


With this newfound hope, I have been able to remind those close to me that it is crucial to rely on God in times of crisis, and hopefully this has encouraged them to find solace in faith as I am doing right now.






20 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page