top of page
  • Emely Abreu '21

Seeking Hope in the Crisis

By Emely Abreu '21


Editor's Note: We are starting a new series every Friday highlighting reports from students "Chez Vous". If you would like to be featured, please submit art, photographs, or writing to Dr. Dooley and Cecilia Fiorindo.


These past couple of weeks and months have been very difficult for New York City, the United States and the world. Seeing everything unfold and present itself has been scary, anxiety invoking, and extremely heart-breaking. Things are different when you are just watching from the sidelines, while the rest of the world experiences this brutal virus, and when you are in the epicenter of it in your home country. 


We knew this was coming, yet some of our leaders failed to prevent this catastrophe. They prepared us in some ways, but because of widespread ignorance we did not think it would be as bad as it is now, and therefore did not exercise serious measures. They thought that we would get a few cases and it would all be over in a couple of weeks. That quickly proved to be wrong, as the United States is now the leading country in the world for cases for COVID-19. 


Artwork by Shiyin Ge '21

Despite all of these mishaps and disappointments, I have been trying to seek hope in these rough times. I have found hope in my brother who is home from college with me and has done his best to keep us happy and active. I have hope for my older brother who is a police officer in Austin, Texas, and even though he has not experienced the worst of the virus, he still risks his life every day. I have hope in my dad, who is an essential worker, and my mom who cannot work from home and still has to go to work everyday; both serving our community. I have found hope in all of the essential workers, especially the ones like grocery store clerks who were looked down on before they were deemed important during a pandemic. I have found hope in witnessing the bravery of our health care workers who work day and night, putting themselves at risk for the life of others. Those are the people who give me faith and who remind me that we will get through this, and that the tough times will pass. Finally, my city gives me hope: we have endured so much, in the past and the present, but we will always remain united and show that we are truly “New York tough.” 


The people on the frontlines and behind the scenes, constantly working to help people and their communities, give me hope. Those are the people that matter and that will help us get past this terrible time. It is very easy to get caught up and overthink things, but we truly must remain positive and faithful. Soon enough, all of this will be over, quarantine will come to an end, the world will heal and recover, and we will experience life with a new perspective, and take advantage of every opportunity like never before. 

That is what keeps me going and gives me hope. 





40 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

ความคิดเห็น


bottom of page