top of page
  • Writer's pictureChez Nous Times

Would You Ever “Quit” Social Media?

By: Camilla Torres '26

I interviewed two ND students from different grades about whether or not they would ever quit social media and the impact it has had on their lives.

Sophie’s Chagasbanian ‘26

Camila: Would you ever quit social media?

Sophie: Absolutely not.

Camila: Why not?

Sophie: I feel like if I were to quit social media I would have none of the friends that I have made online and I would be very disconnected from the outside world.

Camila: How do you think social media impacts your life socially?

Sophie: Socially, I think it’s better for my social life because it’s easier to make friends and you can see what people are doing in, and outside of school.

Camila: How do you think social media impacts your life academically?

Sophie: Academically, I don’t think it has that much of an effect. Occasionally, I get distracted by social media and I procrastinate my work but generally it does not have that much of an effect.

Camila: What differences do you think you would see in your life without social media?

Sophie: I think without social media I would have a lot less friends but it would make me more of an active person. I would be more motivated to go outside and do stuff but who knows.

Addison Madamba ‘25

Camila: Would you ever quit social media?

Addison: Yes, I would.

Camila: Why would you?

Addison: I feel like social media has made a very negative impact in my life. It has been very distracting ever since I've gotten it and I feel like I could be better off without it.

Camila: How do you think social media impacts your life socially?

Addison: Socially, I think social media has kind of helped me find people but I feel like without it I would be able to go out more and hangout with people physically.

Camila: How do you think social media impacts your life academically?

Addison: Academically, I think it has definitely distracted me especially with studying for big tests and doing homework and stuff. It can be very hard to get off of social media to focus on school work sometimes.

Camila: What differences do you think you would see in your life without social media?

Addison: I think I would be very present in my life and more participative especially in everything I do and on the weekends or after school. I also think without social media, academically I would be doing a lot better.

The Pros and Cons

The question of quitting social media had a range of responses. Why? In an era dominated by technology, our society is greatly driven by social media. In specific, teenagers are greatly affected. On one hand, social media serves as a powerful tool for keeping teens connected, helping to form new friendships, and allowing teens to share highlights from their lives. While there are many pros to social media and its impact on society, there are also some drawbacks to the use of social media.

One of the advantages of social media that Sophie states is how she has made a lot of friends through social media. Platforms like Snapchat, Instagram, and TikTok help teens maintain connections with friends and family over long distances and create new connections with people online. Sophie also states how she feels that if she were to quit social media, she would feel very disconnected from the outside world. Social media can be a very helpful tool to stay informed on world news, what your friends are up to, and sharing your own experiences for others to see.

On the other hand, the drawbacks of social media that Addison states are equally as noteworthy. She talks about the distractions that social media can come with and how they can have a negative impact when trying to do homework or study. Another drawback that social media can have is the feeling it gives people to compare themselves to seemingly perfect lives depicted on social media which can lead to feelings of inadequacy, anxiety, and even depression. Social media can have very toxic environments that sometimes people are better off staying out of. Addison says that without social media she feels like she would be more “present” in her life and do better in school. In the end, while social media can be a valuable tool for connection, it is important to learn how to maintain a healthy balance between the digital and real worlds. So, what would you do? Would you ever “quit” social media?

Sources:

Edited by: Christina O'Keefe '25, Katarina Radulovic '24 and Ms. Brilliant

Fair Use Disclaimer

The images and contents in this article are under Fair Use: Copyright Disclaimer Under Section 107 of the Copyright Act in 1976; Allowance is made for "Fair Use" for purposes such as criticism, comment, news reporting, teaching, scholarship, and research. Fair use is a use permitted by copyright statute that might otherwise be infringing. Non-profit, educational or personal use tips the balance in favor of fair use.

All rights and credit go directly to its rightful owners. No copyright infringement intended.

25 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page